• Welcome to Green Bay Packers NFL Football Forum & Community!
    Packer Forum is one of the largest online communities for the Green Bay Packers.

You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member! Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!

John Brantley's Injury

Escambia94

Aerospace Cubicle Engineer (ACE)
It sounds serious. We have poked fun at Brantley a lot here, but he has never wussed out on us. He played hurt in '10, and was dinged up a bit this season. He was having a career day up to that point. My guess (no, I am not a doctor...this is just another fan speculating...) is that he really is hurt. Whether or not it is a sprain, he is in pain and in all likelihood will sit this week.

DRU2012

Super Moderator
Staff member
Super Moderator
High ankle strains, otherwise know as "the Dreaded High Ankle Strain", are apparently WORSE than they sound. Persistent and not very responsive to the normal rehab-regimens, this injury can keep an athlete out of action for an extended period, and at considerably under 100% effective for much longer than that--slow, weak and easily "tweaked" for further damage. All KINDS of problems and dangers for a quarterback. Don't count on seeing #12 in October, and given the further dangers, any "miraculous recovery" would not only likely be a foolish risk, but just as likely to be short-lived in ANY event. No, we are now into (depending on a number of factors) either a condensed, pressure-packed training period for next year's starting quarterback, and/or in-game auditions in order to determine the top candidate for that role after all.