• Welcome to Green Bay Packers NFL Football Forum & Community!
    Packer Forum is one of the largest online communities for the Green Bay Packers.

You are currently viewing our community forums as a guest user.

Having an account grants you additional privileges, such as creating and participating in discussions. Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member! Furthermore, we hide most of the ads once you register as a member!

College Football Playoffs 2018-2019

Escambia94

Aerospace Cubicle Engineer (ACE)
The CFP selection will occur in a few hours. NCAA football fans around the country are lighting up the discussion boards, typing in CAPS LOCK at one another, and letting their emotions guide spirited discussion. I am an engineer by trade, completely devoid of emotion and without a team in the top-4 discussion, so here is my analysis of the CFP 2018 based on the official CFP selection guidance [PDF].

untitled-diagram-1.png

Here is the criteria straight from the CFP.

When circumstances at the margins indicate that teams are comparable, then the following criteria must be considered:
  • Championships won
  • Strength of schedule
  • Head-to-head competition (if it occurred)
  • Comparative outcomes of common opponents (without incentivizing margin of victory)

Here is my analysis based on the official protocol. I took some liberties in interpreting the selection criteria above, since the committee did not specify whether "championships won" needed to be from the former BCS automatic qualifiers (what we call the Power 5 today), nor did they specify method for assessing strength of schedule. One thing that helps us read between the lines is this line from the official protocol document: